Do you think there is life after death?

I am due to attend a funeral of a friend and former colleague. I did not know her well, she was a friend at work, a person to talk to at work, and we did not keep in touch after she left. I regret that.

She left in difficult circumstances and I heard over the years from those who had stayed in contact with her how she was struggling. Struggling to rebuild her life, and yet I still didn’t reach out. I’m attending her funeral as way of apology for that. I still remember her fondly as a lovely woman, who stood up for people’s rights to benefits, stood up for equality and human rights, someone who showed great compassion to others and was very kind and generous.

I like to believe there is another side, a place beyond this life, a next chapter and beginning. A place where she can take all she learnt from this life and use it in the next to excel further and continue to live on. Here she will live on in the hearts of her family and friends. I don’t think we are meant to know what happens after death. I think that is the final joke on us privileged to Death to know the punch line (and here I imagine the form of Death manifested by Terry Pratchett).

Leave a Reply

