Do you think about the legacy you’ll leave? How important is this to you?

Legacy:

  • – an amount of money or property left to someone in a will.
  • – something left or handed down by a predecessor.

In youth we are building up our assets and savings. Planning for retirement doesn’t really start until midlife when pension age is within reach. Have you had children? Are you passionate about charity? Is there a desire to travel? All these answers influence how much ‘legacy’ remains to pass on when you cross the rainbow bridge. I am at the stage in my life where I am still building on my assets, saving for life improvements, I’m living my life right now, not thinking about retirement or how much is in the bank afterwards or who/where I want to leave it.

I believe legacy is important, I have a will to determine where my current assets are distributed if I cross Rainbow Bridge earlier than hoped. I would like people I know to remember me fondly. Instead, right now, I am gathering my parent’s legacy of knowledge and memories – how do I want to remember them? What do I want to remember of them the most? We’re building their legacies together.

Leave a Reply

