Talk about one person you admire. What ways can you emulate them?

The now old saying written by A. A. Milne in a conversation between Piglet and Winnie the Pooh, “you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think” perfectly applies to this person.

He really is braver than he believes – I’ve seen his bravery. He faces bullies head on regardless of their target, he pushes himself into physical challenges I’d never imagine of doing; he overcomes dark depression over and over again.

He really is stronger than he seems – I’ve seen his strength. Supporting his family through difficult times, being a founding column for others to lean on, fighting off thugs, standing up for what he believes in, overcoming adversity and redundancy (more than once). Learning to accept himself including his flaws.

He really is smarter than he thinks – I’ve been educated by him. Without intending to do so and just by being himself I have learnt a great deal. I have learnt how to behave, how to react, how to be kind, how to care for others, how to take care of myself. How to put up shelves, how to fix a broken toilet chain, how to fix an old style car engine, how to tune an engine, how to ride a bike, how to roller skate, how to put on make-up and shave my legs! Mostly I have learnt through him, how to be a person I want to be. Regardless he has done this as part of a team but his influence is immense and I can only strive to emulate him – to be his legacy. He is my Dad after all.

Leave a Reply

