Do you give enough of your time to help others?

Do you give enough of your time to help others? What does giving back look like for you?

Do I give enough time to help others? Most days yes, I help my colleagues, friends and family as and when I can. I volunteer when I have more time to give. I feel it is important to be kind to others, be there in whatever capacity I can be. I don’t have much money to keep donating to causes, but if I have the time to do your laundry I will. But I could do more….

What does giving back look like to me? It is everyday things; I find the big gestures come from those who desire praise and recognition. I desire neither of those, so I give in small ways that are subtle. I leave anonymous notes around my town with little positive quotes on them. I leave pictures I have drawn in charity shop books. I open the door for others as they pass me; I give up my seat to my elders. I say please and thank you when I am served. I give what I can, when I can. I believe in showing kindness to my fellow beings, because there is enough resentment and maliciousness in the world already – why add to it. I rather be the someone who makes others feel like a somebody.

Leave a Reply

