What’s one piece of advice that you reference often in life?

What we think we manifest.

I have learnt this the hard way, making the same mistakes over and over again by continually thinking about what I don’t have and what I don’t want, instead of thinking about what I do have and what I do want. It could be a result from bouts of depression; I certainly notice my dominant thought patterns changing depending on my state of mind. When my mind is venturing towards dark places my thoughts are more often negative, focusing on worries and my ‘lack’.

It took me until I was in my 30’s to fully understand what psychologists meant when they would say that our thoughts determine our quality of life, not any external actions or factors. I came to a point where I thought to myself “what do I have to lose by trying this sceptical positive thinking rubbish? If it doesn’t work then I prove myself right, if it does work then my life could get better”.

My life got better. When I started to stress about paying a big bill I reminded myself that I have more savings than most people my age, I have enough money for what I need and I am thankful for the money I do have. Within two weeks I won in my union lottery, I received a tax return and I was offered overtime to earn some more money. As a thank you to those greater powers I made sure to give some of the extra money that I didn’t need to a charity.

Previously when I visited my nature reserve I got out of the car thinking “I bet I won’t be lucky and nothing will come out” and mostly I didn’t see anything. When I changed my thinking and got out of my car thinking “I wonder what special things I will see today”, I saw a barn owl hunting, warblers, a water vole, and a hare.

Now I believe all those marketing posts from the Secret, Purple Clover and Buddha Daily etc. that are all reminding me that what I think about most I will manifest. So if I want to have a happier lifestyle, lose my excess weight and attract wildlife into my daily wanderings then I need to keep my thoughts on attracting them.

I laughed to myself watching a television programme set in the early 1960’s when a family living in poverty were featured and the mother replied to her children who were complaining about not having something their friends have with “It’s not what we do not have, its being thankful for what we do have”, it’s the same advice but with that old style of stiff upper lip positivity. It also jolted memories of my Nan saying the same things when I was little and she took me shopping. Have we lost that appreciation focus that our parents and grandparents had now that our culture is generally more materialistic and immediate?

I chose to focus on what I have and want rather than dwell on my shortcomings. What we think we manifest.

Leave a Reply

