Would you ever want to be famous?

“Seek to be worth knowing rather than be well known”

At some point while growing up it is pretty reliable that all children dream of being famous for something – a footballer, an athlete, a singer, a performer, a designer, an inventor etc.  I had my eyes set on the stage but when it came down to it stage fright won every time. I grew up, dreams changed, ambition for stardom faded and a desire to be remembered by friends took that dream’s place.

Now I desire to be worth knowing, and decided what I want to be known for is generosity and helpfulness.  I aspire to be a person friends feel comfortable talking to when they need some support. I aspire to spread kindness around my town by leaving post-it notes in shops and books (#secretnotes). I aspire to be mindful of all being around me and help preserve open spaces and community spirit.

Fame in the 21st Century is awash with reality celebrities, there are very few truly ‘famous’ people around (those renowned for something admirable that is). Celebrity is flippant and shallow and I have never dreamed of being a celebrity of any sort. The phrase ‘legend’ is churned out far too easily (and I feel incorrectly), a person becomes legendary once they have died and typically a person who achieved something remarkable and extraordinary such as Albert Einstein and Marie Curie.  Now Pete ordering and finishing a ‘cheeky Nandos’ is a ‘Legend’!  umm, no, no he isn’t.

What is the price of fame?

Leave a Reply

