Describe what home is…

Home: the place where one lives permanently, especially as a member of a family or household. An institution for people needing professional care. Returning to a common place by instinct to nest and procreate.

But we are emotional creatures so the definition of home is so much more.  For some, home is a place to find family and comfort; or a car that resembles big family decisions, holidays and life experiences that provide that home like attachment.

Home can be the sensation of peace, a place for contemplation and calm, rainy days spent reading in a nook, or the feeling of relief when you climb under the duvet.

Home is more than a building; it can be a boat or a caravan too. Home, by emotional or sentimental definition is the place where you feel the most like yourself. A place of sanctuary away from the stresses and pressures of ‘life’ outside.

Home is where I can find my family, my dogs, my books, my crystals, my memories, and the place where I can take off my bra as soon as I get through the door and crawl into my most dishevelled clothes without feeling judged or having to keep up appearances. It is my retreat, wherever it may be at any given time.

Leave a Reply

